What Grade Is Hermes?

Have you ever wondered what grade Hermes is? Well, wonder no more! In this article, we will explore the various grades of Hermes and what they mean.

What is Hermes?

Hermes is a Greek god who was known as the messenger of the gods. He was also associated with commerce, thieves, and travelers. In Roman mythology, he was known as Mercury.

The Grades of Hermes

In Greek mythology, there were different grades or levels of gods. These grades determined the hierarchy among the gods and their level of power and influence. The same is true for Hermes.

Grade 1: Olympian God

As an Olympian god, Hermes was among the twelve major deities who resided on Mount Olympus. These gods were considered to be the most powerful and important in Greek mythology.

Grade 2: Minor God

Minor gods were still considered important but not as powerful as the Olympian gods. They had specific roles and responsibilities but did not have as much influence over human affairs.

Grade 3: Demigod

A demigod is a being who has both divine and mortal parentage. In some versions of Greek mythology, Hermes was said to be a demigod because his mother was a mortal woman named Maia.

Grade 4: Hero

Heroes were humans who had been granted divine status after their death. They were often worshipped as minor deities and had cults dedicated to them.


In conclusion, Hermes was an Olympian god in Greek mythology, which means that he was one of the most powerful deities in their pantheon. However, there were also other grades or levels of gods that existed in Greek mythology such as minor gods, demigods, and heroes. Understanding these different grades helps us to better understand the hierarchy and power dynamics among the gods in Greek mythology.